Many children these days have unhealthy lifestyle. Both schools and parents are responsible for solving this problem. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, children have many more opportunities to lead a healthy life than in the past because generally they live in hygienic surroundings and have a huge amount of diversity food to eat. However, modern lifestyles mean that many children spend long hours in front of the television or computers, do not take great deal of exercise and eat an unbalanced diet.

I believe that both parents and schools can do a lot to deal with this problem. Parents should limit the time that children spend watching television or playing video games and should encourage them to take more exercise. Furthermore, they can play sport with them or take them to a picnic or a camping in the weekend. Schools also should include regular exercise in their timetables, with activities such as physical education and compulsory sports.

As far as diet is concerned, parents and schools should provide children with a range of foods which contain plenty of vegetables and fruit and only a small amount of sugar or fat. If children are brought up on a healthy diet, they can have a habit of eating healthily and this, together with exercise regularly, helps them to grow into healthy adults.

On the other hand, government and health authorities have a responsibility to teach people how to create a healthy lifestyle for children. This can be done by broadcasting programmes about healthy diet on television, or by giving courses to new parents on how to bring up their children,

In conclusion, I believe that governments can encourage and help by giving information to people. However, the responsibility for bringing up children with a good healthy lifestyle depends on the people who are in regular contact with them, their parents and their teachers.