In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations around the world, life expectancy has increased more than it used to be. It is said that the large number of older people causes many problems for the government, while others claim the benefits of the old population outweigh the shortcomings. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of an ageing population offset the advantages entailed by this state of affairs, as a country with a great number of young people is better able to grow its economy.

One commonly cited advantage of an ageing population is that it reduces the strain on public services. This is because a larger number of elderly citizens require fewer facilities to be built to accommodate them. For example, the government may not need to invest more in the school system and education which requires additional public spending.

Despite this, there are a number of dramatic shortcomings to having an ageing population. First of all, having more older people creates a shortage of labour in all fields. This results from decreasing the working-age population, which leads to higher unemployment and economic stagnation. For instance, the employees working in the trading field are lacking, so the government may not import and export products at all.

Furthermore, a large ageing demographic also increases demand for healthcare, as elderly citizens are more likely to suffer from common illnesses than younger ones such as cold and flu, cough, allergies… In addition, countries such as Japan face challenges in looking after their older population and demand for elderly nursing is rising significantly.

In conclusion, although there are benefits of having an ageing population, it is clear that old people make a significant abundance of nations of the lack of workforce and increasing need for healthcare. On balance, I would argue that the government should attempt some policy to encourage having more younger generations to boost the country's economy and services.