In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of the constructions in cities are thoroughly planned to better facilitate the inhabitants. Different and distinct sites are allocated for residential areas, market, hospitals, schools and offices. Such planned developments make the city more manageable. However, it comes at the cost of increased travel time and cost to the residents. But in my opinion, the benefits of the segregated zones outweigh the demerits.

A planned city is always a better place to live in because of the better managed developments. People can enjoy the serenity of a healthy living, as commercial sites are located far from the residences. Children can play in the parks free from commercial pollution. For example, every big city in Pakistan has its separate industrial zone to better carry out the commercial operations and keep people safe from any hazardous effects. Similarly, factories can also function to their fullest, even with night shifts, as they are not bound by the far located housing facilities. Thus, a well-thought map of the city with proper space allocations brings many benefits for the inhabitants as well for the business personnel.

However, with the admirable benefits of a mapped city comes the problem of long commutes for the residents. As schools and offices are located at distant sites from the housing complexes, it adds on the time and effort to reach. Similarly, the laborers who work at minimal wages cannot afford to travel daily to the work site. They want shelters in the vicinity of the factory, they are working for. However, many industrial units have resolved this matter by building accommodations for its workers within the industrial boundary. To illustrate, Pioneer Cement Plant is located at few kilometres from the small city of Jauharabad, Pakistan. It has its own residential area for the employees who have come to work here from different parts of the region. Hence, in many instances, this negative aspect of the distantly located work sites is countered by reputable companies, which also improves their production.

To recapitulate, though a well-thought map of the city adds to people’s inconvenience in terms of travel time and fuel expense to reach different daily destinations like home, school and office, the benefits it brings in the form of a calm, healthy and managed living out shadows the related disadvantages. Additionally, it also benefits commercial organizations in terms of operations and productivity.