In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Due to globalization and development in technology many people are moving from rural areas to cities or towns in search of jobs, this has led to the increase in population in the cities.People in search for cheap and best source of living are preferring to live in apartments as they are available at cheaper rates than the individual houses. As far as I am concerned, the advantages of living in apartments far outweigh the advantages of living in the individual house and the reasons are stated in following paragraphs.

Firstly, security is the major concern for the people living anywhere. So, in this aspect apartments far outweigh the individual homes because apartment consists of more families living in it. This enables them to watch each other's houses if a particular family is away from home. Unlike apartments, individual houses fail to provide this security as there is only one family living in the house and it is vulnerable to theft or robbery when it is away.

Apart from security, apartments also provide high-class facilities with less cost. For example, if we need to live in the individual house we need to purchase land and then plan to construct our home, for which we need to spend huge money as the cost of the land in and around cities will be very high. This is not the case with the apartments as we can spend the money that we used to buy the land in designing the interior of our homes.

However, there are meager disadvantages due to apartments. One of the disadvantage is lack of privacy in the apartments and the other fire accident. If there is a sudden outbreak of fire in apartments, we cannot escape easily from building especially people living in upper floor's however, the possibility for fire accident is very rare.

In the conclusion, I would like to say that the advantages of living in apartments far outweigh its disadvantages and provide cheaper cost of living with all the desirable facilities. It also enables you to make friends with other people living in apartments thereby extending your circle.