rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The subjects to be taught in universities, should not be decided merely by looking at university fees and on employment basis but it has to consider the interest of different kind of students willing to take different courses. Also, if the universities stop teaching arts subjects like philosophy and history, it greatly effects one particular field of students. So, I totally disagree with the given statement.

We cannot confine interests of students to only one particular field because each one has his own interests. For example, if a student is interested in history and philosophy and aspires to become a philosopher, then in such case if universities ban these subjects, we are indirectly trying to kill his/her dreams.

We must not bother about the employment opportunities in these fields because we cannot provide employment to each and every person, who wants to work. The one who is more proficient and skilled will be bagging the opportunity. If more of us try to join the practical degree courses without having any interest but simply looking at job opportunities, we need to face difficulties to clear the course and even if we clear it , we cannot easily get the job we desire because more will be the count of people thinking in a similar way and opting practical courses. One example is the lack of employment in the field of B.tech degree in India. The more is the number of degree holders but less became the job opportunity, as the number of people opting for this course became more in number, looking at job opportunities.

On the whole, we cannot simply say that universities have to ban arts subjects looking at fees and employment opportunities.