In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

There has been an increase in the use of CCTV cameras in public places in order to curb crime rates. However, this method is considered to be an invasion of people's privacy. From my perspective, I think the upsides of beefing up security eclipse its demerits as this following essay will elaborate on both sides of the problem and will include relevant examples to support this position.

There is no denying that digital recording devices restrict people's freedom. Some people hold the belief that, due to the presence of cameras in every corner of streets, they can not comfortably enjoy their daily life. Research has found that these cameras could catch some private activities from residents' houses which is considered as an invasion. Also, what causes the most considerable concern among people is the guarantee of security that hackers could abuse personal information to threaten citizens, which is a type of criminal.

However, in spite of the drawbacks of surveillance cameras, there are some benefits which contribute to a drop in crime escalation. That these high-tech gadgets have been installed in many places such as banks, shopping malls and other public spots has decreased the amount of criminals. The idea of recording videos with cameras in public areas is an efficient approach to identify offenders, believing that it is essential evidence to penalize them. For example, installing cameras in banks has reduced crime rates such as robbery or assault, giving residents reassurance as the cameras will deter thieves.

In conclusion, weighing up both sides of surveillance cameras, it is apparent that the advantages of increasing CCTV in public venues for the improved security outweigh its disadvantages of privacy invasion and data theft.