In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Although the utilisation of video recording in public areas is becoming increasingly popular in order to curb crime rates in several cities, there are those believing that these methods invade personal privacy. However, others, myself included, hardly agree with this statement since this use could bring such benefits in many aspects, outweighing its considered disadvantages.

When considering installing CCTV cameras in public areas, the authorities carefully calculated how this solution would bring advantages. This means surveillance devices are as well-known as machine eyes because these are set in many undiscovered spaces, leading to the prevention of would-be criminals from enshrining illegal activities. For instance, Japan is a modernised nation where devices are upgraded continuously to conserve their citizens, meaning video cameras not only record all people’s actions but also identify biometric data by scanning. Moreover, the most valuable authentic evidence to convict crime is some recorded videos making it more obvious.

Granted, personal privates might be a serious hazard if records are hacked. People claim that if their own information is leaked to online platforms, even several unidentified websites, they could face lots of risks, such as cyberbullying, or blackmailing. However, any mentioned cases happen with the lowest times, even though this does not exist because people working for the governments make them well-qualified experts leading to the creation of high-security systems. For example, the USA has a secure organisation named the FBI, there are those who take the responsibility of protection both in life and online society. This could lead to safety for international travellers and Americans.

In conclusion, compared to certain benefits conferred by setting CCTV cameras in public places, I believe that its disadvantages are insignificant, considering the positive effects are a priority to societies.