In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In order to reduce crimes rate many cities have installed surveillance camera in public places. However, some people argued that this installation will take away our privacy. In my opinion, the use of public camera system have more benefits than drawbacks.

There are definitely some disadvantages when installing surveillance cameras. The camera system will reduce the privacy of residents as everything they do will be recorded. On the one hand, establishing public cameras can be very costly as the government need a huge amount of money to construct all the necessary equipment and employ staff to maintain the whole camera system.

Despite some drawbacks mentioned earlier, the use of public cameras obviously brings much more benefits. Firstly, they can record any suspicious activities that happen around the residential areas and help we identify thefts whenever they intend to infiltrate any houses. Therefore, the police can arrive on time and the burglars will be unlikely to escape. Furthermore, videos recorded by the cameras can be an unarguable evidence for police to prosecute criminals. Those recordings keep track of the exact time crimes are committed and the visage of all thefts, thus make them unable to advocate with such apparent proofs.

As a result, crimes rate will be greatly reduced thanks to the existence of the public camera system.

To conclude, though the establishment of public cameras can have some disadvantages, I believe that the benefits of them outweigh the drawbacks and the government should managed to build the camera system in order to reduce crimes rate.