Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

Promoting products or services through sponsoring sports is widely used by many companies. There are several merits and demerits from this issue which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

Considering the benefits, sport advertising has the potential to assist financial support to meet the team’s needs. Along with joining prestigious tournaments, providing experienced coach and subsidising equipment afford talent development to obtain better quality outcome. Fly Emirates sponsorship elevates Real Madrid performance to the top of European football. Furthermore, this also gives each individual the opportunity to expand their career prospects, for instance becoming a celebrity. It is showed by Cristiano Ronaldo generating enormous income through CocaCola ambassador. Regarding that, fans attraction may bolster athlete become more well-known and trustworthy to engage various profitable activities.

In contrast, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this issue that the sport club commercialism does not guarantee positive feedbacks, contractual agreements can restrict the flexibility of team's management decisions. Discrepancies in each other ambitions contributes to the corporate regulation that are sometimes in conflict with the team’s value as happened to Manchester city obliged to pay premiere league penalty. Moreover, the differences treatment among members might engender social jealousy. Considering that, the sponsor tendency appoint athletes with proportional capabilities or physique traits to display projects constraints people's future opportunities.

In summary, the positives of endorsing sport may uplift clubs revenue and boast individual to have greater job opportunity. However, the negatives of this promotion are the limited access in various events and social gaps among members due to corporate preference in profiling suitable product or service.