Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Sponsoring sports has become a prevalent way that many business firms choose to promote themselves. While some individuals support this phenomenon, others believe that there is a certain degree of negativity. Personally, I agree with the former notion because both athletes and sports can experience different advantages.

On the one hand, sports receiving endorsement deals from companies as a part of their advertising campaign is considered to be positive. In fact, since the sports events require an enormous amount of money to organize and coordinate, without such financial resources from benefactors, the organizers cannot sustain the activities in the long term and improve their quality. Besides, players participating in those sports can also benefit because they have well-prepared healthcare, facilities, and equipment and completely concentrate on the competitions. Therefore, it is evident that companies granting sponsorship to sports can be significantly beneficial.

On the other hand, sponsorship contracts from business enterprises can detrimentally affect sports. Specifically, these firms use sports to reach broader media coverage to improve their brand awareness, so sports events and their TV appeal must include the advertisement of the brand image. This will disrupt the audiences’ experience while watching sports, directly deteriorating the sports’ popularity. Consequently, getting the endorsement from companies is not suitable for sports to some extend.

To conclude, despite controversial schools of thought on determining the ultimate impacts of sponsorship from companies in their marketing strategies, I endorse the hypothesis that this practice is highly positive. While sports can be improved and develop exponentially, the sportspersons can acquire optimal conditions and achieve greater performance.