In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The phenomenon of immigration has currently become increasingly popular in certain countries due to a diverse array of job and study opportunities offered in vibrant cities. In my opinion, this location transfer holds negative impacts predominantly in comparison to its benefits, including the remarkable decrease in rural population and other influences related to government regulation in terms of national territory and human resources in both urban and suburban areas.

While there are plenty of human resources in cities, given by the movement of rural people, the countryside has to face the problem coming from the lack of employees, leading to the abandonment of agricultural territories and the extinction of their unique cultural activities belonging to their villages or towns.

Furthermore, the government’s regulation in urban areas has to tackle the resident issues because of the phenomenon of overpopulation. Take the COVID-19 pandemic as an example, it would have been more easy if there was a balanced citizen distribution among areas. However, it was the fact that a large number of people densely gathering in particular city areas led to the lack of sustenance and dwelling. Otherwise, individuals living in the countryside remained healthy and comfortable because of the ready availability of foods and water within the safe distance among houses.

In conclusion, while migration offers plenty of human resources for vibrant cities, it also creates remarkable problems that the government must address in terms of national regulation and territories in both rural and urban areas.