In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Go along with living standards, the population in rural areas dwindles as residents leave for cities. From my perspective, I suppose it will create damage to local businesses and deepen the unemployment crisis in most modern cities.

A prime loss to rural businesses is evitable due to the fewer residents. With reducing in demand, suppliers will not fulfill the shortage in necessities anymore as they consider that place as unpotential, leading to inconvenience in rural daily life. For example, low sales volumes caused by the decline in rural resident numbers make it financially unsustainable for local brands. The closure of the grocery stores nearby means people there lose convenient and affordable shopping options that provide a vast range of products. Moreover, they also have to travel a long distance to access similar goods, which will create a hardship for their life and especially for those having unsuitable transportation.

A shrinking population frequently happens in cities that can give enormous opportunities for jobs. This, create a competitive market that can not sufficiently respond to versatile infrastructure. The more people migrate to the urban, the less life quality can be available. It means that profound unemployment persists even though it is said that there will be better amenities if they move to developing areas. This situation will worsen the service communities which are just stayed at a neutral level.

All in all, the decreasing rural population is negative evolution that poses challenges for rural businesses and profound unemployment in cities. These issues should be addressed and enact some reasonable adjustments to ensure sustainable growth in rural and balance well-being in cities.