In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Childhood obesity has become a common indicator of poor public health around the world, particularly in Western-based countries where huge amounts of unhealthy food are consumed on a daily basis. Some people feel that governments should do whatever is necessary to remedy the situation. However, we should not hold governments solely accountable for solving the childhood obesity issue.

The role of a competent and accountable government is to safeguard the well-being of its citizens. That is to say, if there is a severe threat to the people, such as a dangerous epidemic, the government should be the first to recognize it, propagate it, and put measures in place. And parents are responsible for childhood obesity. Because they are the ones that spend the most time with their children.

The child's diet should be balanced and acceptable, include a variety of foods, and avoid eating one type of food in particular. Food processing also requires attention, such as limiting fried and stir-fried foods and instead of preparing boiled, steamed, and braised dishes. Chew carefully and eat slowly, eat regularly, don't miss meals, and don't allow youngsters to get too hungry, because when they're hungry, they eat more at the next meal, causing fat to accumulate faster. Eat more at breakfast to avoid snacking at school, and eat less in the afternoon and evening. Consume more green veggies and fewer sugary fruits. Reducing the use of rice and replacing it with potatoes, and corn is a fiber-rich staple meal. Furthermore, parents must be more severe with obese children rather than quickly softening with them. Limit your consumption of candies, carbonated soft drinks, condensed milk, and ice cream. Do not keep them in the house at all. Diet and exercise, in particular, must go hand in hand. Parents must cultivate their children's favorite athletic activities. Focusing on children's interests in simple and practical activities such as walking to school, running, jumping rope, kicking a soccer ball, playing badminton, shuttlecock, climbing stairs, and so on. Encourage children to complete household activities such as cleaning, carrying water to water plants, moving furniture, and so on.

In general, children are a reflection of their parents. Even though we love and mollycoddle them, this makes all efforts pointless. Unknowingly, we are causing our children to become obese and unhealthy. The government and the Ministry of Health only aid parents in part. The rest is up to parents to ensure their children have a healthy life and a great future.