The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The generation gap has long been a source of contention in modern society. Some people may adhere to old ideals, while others believe that such ideas are inappropriate for young people in modern life. In my opinion, some values are out of date and should be revised, while others should be accepted today.

However, I believe that young people should inherit some of the valuable values of past generations. There is a notion that age speaks with the wisdom of experience; their life experiences, together with cherished characteristics such as hard work, doing one's best, taking pride in one's work, and respect for others, should be taken into account.

It is not denied that some conventional beliefs were correct in the past but are no longer correct in the present. For example, in the past, children were expected to accomplish things the way their parents wanted them to. However, the concept of good children has changed, children can now express themselves more freely and openly. Another positive development occurs in the roles of men and women in the family. Previously, women were supposed to stay at home and handle housework, while males were expected to be breadwinners with complete decision-making authority. Nonetheless, men and women share equal responsibility for housework, producing a living, and making crucial decisions now.

In conclusion, young people should be open to new things from the outside world yet inherit strong conventional values. That is one way to help the next generation develop in a civilized manner while also conserving good traditions.