In many countries, children participate in some paid work in their spare time. Some people think that this is wrong, but others believe that such work will extend children’s knowledge and increase their sense of responsibility. What is your opinion?

Whether children, in many countries, should replace free time with paid jobs is arousing different opinions. Some people believe that doing paid work could benefit children whilst others completely disagree. In my opinion, I partly believe that working at a young age has its merits and demerits for the juveniles.

On the one hand, many individuals are of the opinion that such work could enhance children’s interpersonal skills and encourage them to be more responsible in life. If children are exposed and given opportunity to a particular part-time job such as selling coffee or shipping, they could better their communication skills by taking orders from customers and driving skills by delivering goods safely to different houses. Moreover, working part-time could provide children with compulsory knowledge when tackling with accidents at work. Since numerous incidents during work are unpreventable, children need experience from their part-time jobs to be able to face difficulties with ease.

On the other hand, some people are against the idea that children should work in their spare time. Firstly, they are afraid of labour exploitation when a child works for a specific business as there are some business being accused of child exploitation by underpaying and overworking children. Furthermore, few people think that children’s safety could not be guaranteed when work accidents happen. For instance, a child coffee sellers are likely to injure themselves due to their infamiliarity with the equipments.

From my point of view, working at a young age could include both advantages and disadvantages as children could both obtain invaluable skills for their future from different jobs and hurt themselves because of experience lack and age barrier.

In conclusion, participating in some paid work not only expands children’s knowledge and increases their future responsibility, but it could also be a risk of safety and exploitation. Therefore, I believe that although children working in free time has its benefits, its drawbacks are undeniable.