In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development or something that we should try to prevent?

It is unfortunate that several languages are on the verge of dying but that is the price of progress. Some view this as something that occurs inevitably while others say that it is an acceptable development. There are arguments on both sides which I will elaborate below.

On the one hand, the diversity of language is one thing which will aid to identify our true color. Losing a language can mean losing crucial knowledge about the local environment. For the reason, it is often absolutely important to the community itself that its language survive. In addition, the loss of human languages which may be varied will also severely limits what linguists can learn about human cognition. This, in turn, tells us important points about the human mind that the fewer languages to study, the less we will be able to learn about the human mind.

On the other hand, the reduction in the number of languages spoken is a tremendous way to help unify the world and the human race in general. Having one, or a few global languages will accomplish much better convenient and seamless condition. Also, languages isolate communities which are most likely to be economically weak. If human beings can all communicate in the same tongue, thus maybe the treatment on the entire population of the world is equal. Furthermore, the evolving languages that happen today are the result of communication demands. Communities are best served by a language which can be used to communicate intelligibly with the greatest number of people. It would seem to me that the fewer the number of languages, the fewer the chances for misunderstanding one another.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this is an acceptable development. But, however, this does not mean that we must abandon our mother tongue. This is owing to these new languages do not compare to the linguistic heritage that is being lost.