In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, the proliferation of single-use products has become a pressing concern for most countries. The main causes are economic and technological factors whereas this culture will lead to no other than environmental degradation in the long run.

Firstly, technological advancement in recent years has led to the culture of consumerism. For instance, plastic could not be produced on such a mass scale 100 years ago. However, today, plastic in various forms is no longer expensive but even profitable to use for companies like Walmart. In addition, every material from furniture to electronic gadgets is at a considerable price. Therefore, young people have grown the habit of replacing their properties and household items such as dishes, sofas, and bags in a short period, which the old generation used to be more protective of. The growth of advertisements also makes the situation possible by attracting customers to buy even if it is unnecessary.

A variety of environmental problems will still exist if human beings continue to follow the same practice. Take the production of plastic for example, in which raw materials are burned. Following this, it is transported by ship or plane, running on petrol, and finally to the supermarkets by carting on trucks. Therefore, it is evident that fuel consumption from factories and modes of transport is massive. As a result, this reckless manufacturing can lead to the endangerment of living things and trigger climate change and other natural disasters.

In conclusion, the so-called ‘throwaway society’ results from cost-effective productions coupled with increased affordability for the public. Since it is deteriorating the earth and exploiting natural resources, more governments should do educational campaigns, introduce recycling plans and limit imports from foreign countries.