In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that an ageing society is approaching in many parts of the world as people live longer and longer. I believe that there are more chanllenges than opportunities to be expected as the elderly make up a larger proportion of the population.

Elderly people often require caring services of a high quality, as most of them suffer from illness of some kind, and thus cannot take care of themselves. Also, relatively fewer young people would need to care more elderly people, which impose a heavy burden on the next generation, probably leading to a even lower birth rate and eventually worsening the situation further.

As mentioned above, elderly people can have a variety of medical needs, which translate into bills for the government to pay. At the same time, the size of working-age population shrinks relatively, contributing less to the national revenue. Consequently, the economics of the country would struggle as the expenditure grows and the income drops.

Although elderly people have rich life experience, more often than not they are not able to follow up the most up-to-date trends in art, technology and more areas. Therefore, the elderly are often considered less innovative than the younger, since innovation is all about creating something new. With the population ageing, the overall creativity of the society would be harmed, making it less lively, less flexible and less open to changes.

In conclusion, my view is that having more elderly people in the society causes more problems than it solves, which should absolutely draw more public attention.