In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many countries have witnessed a significant rise in civilians' life expentancy. For example, in Japan, it is common to see people living over 90 years. Some people believe that this trend is likely to bring some burdens to governments, while others think it is beneficial to have more elderly members in society. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the problem and give my own opinion.

To begin with, let us look into the potential disadvantages that elder population could bring. First of all, it could cause financial issue to governments. As the number of retired workers increases, goverments would have to spend large budgets on pensions and other social welfares for the elderly. Along with that, to take care of senior people, more hospitals and nursing homes are also needed. Building those infrastructures may require a considerable amount of fees, labour, and time.

On the other hand, society could benefit from having elder people. Since people who live longer tend to adopt a healthy lifestyle, they could set examples and share their experience on living healthily. By doing this, it is possible that youngsters will follow them, consequently improving the public health. Additionally, when the population life expectancy goes higher, governments could consider raising the retirement age. Not only does this mitigate the pension issue, but it also enhances the quality of workforce as there are more experienced employees.

All in all, having an ageing population could be both advantageous and disadvantageous. Nevertheless, I hold the idea that with appropriate policies from authorities, the drawbacks could be outweighed by the benefits.