In many countries, people like to eat a wide range of food that cannot be grown in their local place. Therefore, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

Due to the economic advancement, demand for various foods for meals is noticeably seen in a number of households in the developing and developed countries. In fact, there is a tendency that people are in favour of nourishment that stems from other places rather than local ones. From the vantage point, I utterly believe that the pros of this trend outstripped the cons, which will be dissected with rationales in the essay below.

To commence, it is conspicuous that the trend offers both peasants and consumers several benefits. In terms of peasants, because of the significant increase in the demand of regional food, they are given the chance to boost the profits by delivering their products to more potential markets. As a result, the specialties of one or many regions are likely to become famous for their unique traits, which leads to long term developments for manufacturers. Besides, users will have a variety of modern diets to consider, making their meals more diversified and nutritious so that it helps promote health and prevent disease.

On the contrary, having a bias towards certain foods may have negative influences on less exotic food brands, the environment and the users themselves. For traditional nourishment, it is considered as a challenge to survive in the competitive markets where big brands are taken over. Furthermore, when demand for particular foods increases, the price also increases, and people in poorer areas where the food is grown are not able to afford to buy it as a consequence. The trend also harms the environment because of the large amount of carbon dioxide emissions produced by the foods’ transportation. Finally, with long distances transportation, the foods need to be treated with chemicals and preservatives which makes them less healthy to eat.

In conclusion, the trend is a double-edged sword, but the disadvantages that the trend offers are more outweighed than the merits. Apart from calling for a more environment-friendly way of transportation, we should not only respect traditional foods with the aim of a balanced and fair competition but also be aware of chemicals used in imported foods since we, the users, are the beneficiaries in the end.