More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Several countries have been improving significantly their structural regulation in such various fields as economic, health care, education … Therefore, it undoubtedly leads to the development of individuals’ lifestyle and wealth; specifically, there is an increasing demand in purchasing goods from widespread brands. From the vantage point, I will dissect the reasons for this trend and whether this tendency is a positive or harmful development.

To commence with, there exists a great number of major/main explanations for the attractiveness of the world-famous products. Firstly, people are willing to show off their wealth by spending money on numerous expensive and stylish products from ubiquitous brands. It also reflects their success in life and work as well as meets the requirements of global lifestyle. Secondly, due to the digital and non-digital marketing in those brands, more citizens around the earth have realized that they are able to afford a multitude of commodities. For instance, if an individual has an intention of possessing a phone, he/she can widely opt for an affordable smartphone from Apple, Samsung or Xiaomi since there are a great number of models and styles.

From a personal view, the trend evidently has both merits and drawbacks to human evolution and the business world. On the one hand, it demonstrates that the quality of human life in some developing countries has been improved much compared to a century ago , where World War resulted in the destruction, death and human activities were largely deteriorated. In addition, purchasing goods from common brands is a normal behaviour because those brands provide users with friendly features and quality assurance. Nevertheless, on the other hand, this critically expands the discrimination between the prosperous and the impoverished/dispossessed. Furthermore, products from small-sized companies or brands of some developing or underdeveloped countries will be depreciated, ignored due to the monopoly of huge recognized brands in the worldwide market, which adversely impacts the economy of these nations.

In conclusion, goods from ubiquitous brands have earned the customers’ belief and trust; however, this still threatens the existence of less recognized brands. Therefore, I utterly believe that people should manage their budgets properly and pertinent measures should be taken to maintain the position of every brand, whether they are widespread or not.