In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour? What do you
think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?
Poor student behaviour seems to be an increasingly widespread problem and I think that modern
lifestyles are probably responsible for this.
In many countries, the birth rate is decreasing so that families are smaller with fewer children.
These children are often spoiled, not in terms of love and attention because working parents do
not have the time for this, but in more material ways. They are allowed to have whatever they
want, regardless of price, and to behave as they please. This means that the children grow up
without consideration for others and without any understanding of where their standard of living
comes from.
When they get to school age they have not learnt any self control or discipline. They have less
respect for their teachers and refuse to obey school rules in the way that their parents did.
Teachers continually complain about this problem and measures should be taken to combat the
situation. But I think the solution to the problem lies with the families, who need to be more
aware of the future consequences of spoiling their children. If they could raise them to be
considerate of others and to be social, responsible individuals, the whole community would
benefit.
Perhaps parenting classes are needed to help them to do this, and high quality nursery schools
could be established that would support families more in terms of raising the next generation.
The government should fund this kind of parental support, because this is no longer a problem
for individual families, but for society as a whole.