In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups.

Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the fast-moving world the large and joint family are becoming a rarity among the people due to varies factors. Nowadays, people in urban areas are separated from their family and leading their own life. In my view, positive overheads the negative impacts until the person knows to manage and control themselves.

The place where we work, the distance of the university from our hometown are the key factors which make the people migrate to the cities. In some cases, their whole family cannot shift to the cities for the individual due to varies reason such as their parent's job, the budget of a family, some may to not willing to as a consequence people live alone in the cities. Usually, the salary will be offered based on the cost of living in the city which they live in. Comparatively, the expenditure is less in the cities for a single person or a small family than that for a big family, so that they can save more for their future life. If the person is living alone or as a small family, there is a high probability to do their day-to-day works by themselves. As a result of that, they will learn many things such as taking care of themselves, time management, prioritizing, etc.

In the other hand, this will also introduce some negative effects in our life. It may make the person to detached more from their family as their living apart from them. This will also influence the people attitude and culture. Because of doing all the work by themselves sometimes they may be overconfident in all the situations and also they may feel too independent. Furthermore, loneliness may sometimes kill people. Lack of human contact in the home without other distractions like internet surfing, chatting, video games may make the people feel more boredom, stressed and lonely. In small family to growing children without the help of other family members like grandparents are difficult as both the parents are working professionals nowadays.

In conclusion, It depends on the people's mindset to state whether it is positive or negative because it has both positive and negative impacts. If the person managed everything properly and they maintained a positive attitude means the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.