In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In many countries, despite achieving high qualifications, many graduated students are currently struggling to get employed. This problem is result from numerous factors and there are some suggestions to solve the situation.

The first reason to this problem is lack of soft skills among students which are necessary for work. A large number of students dedicate their time in university for deepening their specialised knowledge rather than updating skills like teamwork, critical thinking, analyzing. Therefore, although they have the advantage of a high degree for their knowledge, they may not win a chance to get a job due to their lack of skills.

The second reason to be mentioned is that not all of working areas are well-developed in each country. For example, a student with a qualification related to Economy is able to find a job anywhere while that to Science has limited choice without some countries like the USA. Or it is easier to get a job in the areas of Finance, Business, Trade in a nation which economy is strong than that having depression.

There are some solutions to improve the situation. First, students should not only maintain their study in university but also learn new skills to meet the demand from employers. It will help graduated students increase the chance to get a position with both high qualifications and skills. Second, universities can be a connector between firms and students. This will help both students find a job which is suitable for their major and employers get their appropriate workers. Last but not least, students can take working overseas into account where has suitable environment. It will avoid working in unwanted area and wasting their talents.

In conclusion, unemployment among highly qualified students in some contries can be caused by lack of soft skills or ill development in specific working areas. To solve the problems, some suggestions for changes from both students and universities are given.