In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

For some people in many nations, when it is time for job seeking, they have to live away from their beloved ones like families and friends. They may find this has not only good points but also drawbacks. In my opinion, the first one outweighs the other.

The primary disadvantages of living away from families and friends for work are homesickness and culture shock. Homesickness is something people may expect as they are at first far away from their close ones, who they have known for ages, and stay with strangers, who they have just met, knowing nothing other than names. Moreover, people can get culture shock if they have to move to another country where have differences from their home in living styles, behaviors and so on.

However, going far away for work has remarkable advantages. The first one is building people's independence. When people move away from their home, they need to live on their own. This means there will be no one near them to help solve their problems. For instance, instead of a hot meal prepared by your mother after a tiring workday, you need to learn how to cook for yourself, which is unfamiliar to some people. The second point to be named is the chance for exploration. When people move to a new place, they will meet new people, new lifestyles, etc. Some may bring unwanted experiences, but some will bring wonderful ones. For example, when people move to big cities like New York, they will experience a life full of night activities.

In conclusion, moving away for work may have some drawbacks at first like culture shock and homesickness, but it has numerous good points, which outweigh them. People should take working away from home into account for their independent development and the opportunity for exploration.