Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In developing countries, there is a trend that is the expansion of the tourism sector. My essay will shed light on the causes of this development and I strongly suppose that it exerts positive impacts on developing countries in spite of its drawbacks.

There is little room for doubt that there are manifold reasons why governments should concentrate on national tourism industries. Firstly, expanding tourism does wonders for global integration because it brings an excellent opportunity for developing countries to promote their national images and get exposed to other economies. As a result, this paves the way for economic coordination among countries in the world. Secondly, tourism can be a contributing factor to the national budget in order to strengthen the developing country’s economy. Thanks to that, the government could derive foreign money from the tourist industry by imposing taxes on tourist activities.

On the other hand, the expansion of tourism exerts adverse impacts on manifold aspects of developing countries. First, the extension of tourist industries is the culprit of environmental contamination in developing nations. An explanation is that a large amount of plastic waste is produced by the tourist industry, while the systems of recycling waste in many developing countries are far from appropriate for dealing with plastic pollution. Furthermore, the development of infrastructures and facilities in order to accommodate the expansion of the tourist industry can pose a threat to local areas. As a consequence, it gives rise to permanent damages to natural surroundings and deprives animals of natural habitats as well.

In conclusion, an array of explanations are given to explain the extension of tourism in developing countries. While there are several disadvantages of extending tourism, it is my contention that governments should boost their tourist industries because of its benefits.