Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In recent years, tourism industry is thriving in many developing nations. The following essay will explain possible reasons causing this phenomenon and describe the benefits associated with it.

It is undeniable that tourism is a lucrative business in many parts of the world. If a tourist attraction entices many travelers, it would receive a huge amount of investment to develop accommodation such as hotel, motel and inn to serve the increasing demand of visitors. As a result of this, the tourism industry could employ many local people to work as service providers to tourists and it helps developing countries to reduce the unemployment rate. Another reason is that tourism requires less initial capital for the government to develop the industry. In many developing nations, it is difficult to establish manufacturing industry due to lack of human resources, capital investment and raw materials. Therefore, tourism, which is a service-based industry, is an optimal choice for developing countries because it requires less initial upfront investment than other industries.

Overall, the tendency to expand tourism by the government brings many benefits to the local population. It offers a valuable opportunity for the local citizens to earn sufficient salary by providing services to visitors. Another positive development is that travel industry could help developing nations to advertise and promote their culture to other people around the world. It might encourage knowledge-sharing, create business connections and improve the relationship between local people and foreigners. Despite these benefits, there are negative impacts caused by a booming tourism industry such as pollution, invasion of inappropriate culture and vandalism in tourist places. However, the financial benefits gained from visitors could fully compensate for the drawbacks.

In conclusion, many developing countries are expanding tourism because it could bring many positive impacts on the local people and their economy.