Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In contemporary life, there has been a growing trend towards tourism expansion in a myriad of nations in the world. While it seems to be highly beneficial, this growth may bring a few adverse effects on particular sectors.

On the one hand, improving tourist business may be caused by a variety of reasons. Firstly, due to the significant amount of revenue from tourism, many investors has been attracted. Particularly, when one person who travels to another places, have to pay for hotels, transports, restaurants, generating considerably income for the local and creating a hundred of jobs. Secondly, these industries could promote tourism image and local culture, making regional inhabitants satisfied with their hometown. As a result, it is a stimulus to people living near tourist attractions to have obligation to contribute for their city.

On the other hand, it will be a remarkable negative one for human when widening the travel businesses. Firstly, tourism may noticeably cause the ruthless exploitation which is rapidly destroying our planet. In other words, development of tourism leads to damages for numerous natural areas such as forests or beaches, and some heritage sites because of overcrowding and badly behaving. Secondly, there will be less valuable for some places of interest when everyone can get there. For instance, Fansipan is the highest mountain in Vietnam and it took explorers three days to climb to the top, however, today people can pay for cable cars without any efforts, therefore, the adventure to this high top of Vietnam has no meaning.

In conclusion, broadening the industries of tourism has gained in popularity and it seems to be beneficial for society. However, it also comes at a great cost to nature and the local places.