Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tendency that staffs should working on the online space instead of present at physical rooms. In my essay, I do not believe that this movement only bring advantages to employees and not to employers, but also its could cause some problems to staffs and generate many benefits to company’s shareholders.

On the one hand, many staffs tend to overvalue the conveniences of working at their own home such as saving time to commuting, being flexible or less daily spending costs. However, some problems resulting from online working environment. The first one must be a mental life style. This means that the internet working flatforms do not enable workers to communicate face to face. So they could lead to stress spirit issues because they do not go out and are less opportunity to social communications frequently. In addition, working from home may precipitate the personal physical health. To be more detailed, the lack of outdoor activities should make employees lazy. Then these could become fat and meet the obesity issue. These above-mentioned difficulties must be some evidences of the negative side when working from home.

On the other hand, most shareholders often mention that working from home does not bring any advantage to their organization since it is very hard to control online workers via some technology tools. But if these owners take advantage of online working spaces considerably, there will be more benefits to their companies. Saving operating costs are undeniable examples obviously as the internet workspace allows these owners to spend extremely less costs in decoration, electric and water costs and daily expenditure costs, especially rent costs or the cost for physical departments. As a result, the generally final profit of the unit using cutting edge technologies could rise up in the long run. For example, Abbott Lab encourages its staffs to work online two days each week. Google and Microsoft permit their employees not to come offline departments if there are not urgent meetings.

In conclusion, although working from home may allow workers to enjoy the working time at their own home and provide some concerns to employers, it still could both cause many struggling effects to staffs and make shareholders’ investments in the organizations orienting high tech tools in management profitable highly in long run.