Many factors motivate people in the workplace. Of these, money is the most important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Working motivation has been attributed to a myriad of sources. Certain individuals are of the opinion that earning is of utmost importance that drives people to devote themselves to work. Although I am in consummate accord with the notion, I still think that other contributors including the purpose of the job and healthy competition between employees can also be regarded as elements motivating people to work harder.

On the one hand, the significance of money earned by individuals from working has been attached to its paramount importance in fulfilling a desired life and solidifying one’s social status. It goes without saying that the majority of people work in a financial-oriented way to support other aspects of life such as recreation, education, or healthcare. Without financial means, people would desperately struggle to equip themselves with knowledge and handle extreme emergencies. Not to mention that the more money people make, the more respect they can gain from others. Social status has long been ascribed to the sound financial stage that each person can reach. Therefore, people are more dedicated to working to earn more money with an aim of achieving higher social recognition and admiration.

On the other hand, there are multiple other ways to incentivize employees to work hard without financial involvement. The first motivation comes in the form of healthy competition between colleagues. In a community where workers are challenged against one another to deliver the best results, it will create a drive to work harder. This should be noted, though, that this healthy competitive attitude can turn into aggressive workplace politics if not supervised. Another motivation is when employees feel that they are serving a greater purpose in doing their jobs. For example, doctors and nurses work harder than in any other profession because they feel they have the responsibility to save lives.

In conclusion, the promise of earning ample money motivates employees to work hard in various ways. However, many other incentives also make workers more diligent including job purposes and favorable competition among workers.