Large companies use sport events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fact that sporting events have become a fertile ground for advertisements has become a hot topic for debate, with many arguing that this trend affects the sports industry negatively. From my perspective, I partly disagree with the statement. To begin with, sports events being used as a platform for promotion can offer both the events and the sports team tremendous benefits. Firstly, advertising can help cover the event planning costs and make the events more accessible. Internationally-acclaimed sporting competitions can cost the host countries an astronomical amount of money that without sponsorships from large corporations, would not be paid off unless the entrance ticket is high-priced. This would drive fans away and hurt the event’s profit. For example, the 2021 Tokyo Olympics game is reported to have generated 2.25 billion US dollars in advertising revenue, which is almost 20 percent of the hosting cost. Secondly, advertisements can give sportsmen a better living standard, thus helping them take their mind off money problems and focus on the games. Some players even got rich thanks to product endorsements, namely Ronaldo and Messi Nevertheless, promoting products during sporting events can bring about negative consequences if the product is not ethical. As sports stars are influential figures, sports teams should be careful about what products they can endorse. To be more specific, research from Yale University in 2013 claimed that some sports sponsorships that featured junk food had increased the rate of child obesity. This is because children are impressionable, therefore, once they see famous athletes with fast food, they can have the wrong impression that this kind of food is wholesome and develop cravings for junk food. In conclusion, while I believe that using sports events as a promotion platform can be beneficial, the organizers and the sportsmen should be aware of the impact of the products they advertise.