Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Researches have found that a large proportion of teenagers in present-day society prefer online communication to face-to-face meetings. This phenomenon can be attributed to several factors, and this essay will propose some measures to remedy it.

There are two key drivers behind teenagers' preference for virtual socialisation. Chief of these is the undeniable convenience of this method of interaction. For instance, people can now instantly contact their acquaintances with a few keyboard clicks, regardless of the distance between them. Given that youngsters tend to like effortless activities, they are often more inclined to talk to other people through instant messaging platforms like Messenger or Discord, rather than gather in-person. Added to this is the fact many teenagers find it difficult to communicate in real-life. To illustrate, they may have trouble expressing their emotions, or feel anxious and struggle to voice their ideas coherently. These problems are eliminated in digital communication, as socially inept teens can simply use emoticons and abbreviations to demonstrate their feelings, and calmly proofread their messages before sending them.

Teenagers can be encouraged to meet up with others more in a number of ways. Firstly, they should be incentivised to participate in regular extracurricular activities like sports or volunteering. This will ensure that they frequently gather with wide groups of peers and gradually improve their communication skills, thus diminishing the preference for virtual contact. A personal example would be that I used to rely on chatting with my friends on the Internet, but I eventually applied to some social clubs, which gave me the opportunity to constantly meet up with new people and boost my social skills. Secondly, teens should be informed of the harm that online communication can cause. For example, parents can teach their children about how it can give rise to a variety of health problems, as well as the risk of facing dangerous individuals like pedophiles or hackers, to deter them from overusing this means of communication.

In summary, the causes of teenagers' inclination to contact others on the Internet rather than meet up in person are convenience and inadequate social abilities, and the solutions lie in encouraging them to partake in after-school activities and educating them about the dangers of online socialisation.