Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food is being widely exported worldwide to meet the global demand. While this trend might be an economic driver for many developing countries, personally, I assume that this is not a sustainable approach, in terms of its environmental impacts and economics. For that, in my perspective, the downsides of eating foreign foods outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, imported foods are becoming more ubiquitous all over the world. The proliferation of global population and the expansion of different service sectors are triggering a food crisis in many places, especially in developed countries. Meanwhile, developing countries where agriculture accounts for a large part of the economy will significantly benefit from the exportation of food to other markets as this will create more jobs, which, in turn, drives the domestic economy forward. For instance, food exports snatch up to over 15% of Vietnam’s GDP, boosting its economy strongly since renovation in 1986. Furthermore, not only does this trend help countries to thrive, it also helps developed countries to alleviate food shortage and place their priority on other fields.

On the other hand, I believe that such a practice has more drawbacks than its benefits. Firstly, food that is transported over a long distance needs more preservatives to keep it fresh for a longer period of time. The consumption of this kind of food is detrimental to health the accumulation of such chemicals in human body , in the long term, will degrade the population’s wellbeing. A survey conducted by WHO concludes that those who eat seasonal food that is manufactured by local farmers are less prone to cancer, reproductive dysfunction, etc. Moreover, food miles are producing a large amount of carbon footprint, which also attributes to climate change. As global warming worsens ,economic performance will slow down, countries will have to spend a substantial amount of money to ease environmental problems, and the nation’s general wellbeing will drop dramatically.