Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food is being widely exported worldwide to meet the global demand. While this can boost the national economy quickly, especially for developing countries, personally, I assume that this is not a sustainable approach, in terms of the environment and economy. For that, in my perspective, the downsides of eating foreign foods outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, imported foods are becoming more ubiquitous all over the world as they are a better supplier. The proliferation of global population and the broadening of different service sectors are creating food crisis in many places, especially in developed countries. Meanwhile, in developing countries where agriculture is the main industry, by exporting food to other markets, this will create more jobs, which, in turn, prospers the domestic economy. For instance, food exporting accounts for over 15% of Vietnam’s GDP, helping its economy grow rapidly since the end of the trade ban of 1986. Furthermore, not only does this help those aforementioned countries to thrive, it also helps developed countries to alleviate food shortage and focus on other fields more.

On the other hand, food that is shipped from far away needs more pesticide to keep it fresh for a longer time. Eating this kind of food is detrimental to health because of chemicals residue, in the long term, this will decrease the populace’s wellbeing. A survey conducted by WHO concluded that, those who eat seasonal food that is manufactured by local farmer are less prone to cancer, reproductive dysfunction, etc. Moreover, food miles is producing a large amount of carbon footprint and as a result, becoming one of the main factors attributes to climate change. As global warming worsen, the economy will be weakened, countries will have to spend a substantial amount of money to ease the environmental problem, and the national general wellbeing will drop dramatically.

In conclusion, the advantages that imported food brings is undeniable, however, to achieve a sustainable development both economically and environmentally, local food is clearly a better approach.