Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other sorts of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no single yardstick for measuring the progress of a nation. Some people think that economic progress is the ultimate determinant of success; others, however, insist that success in other areas is equally important. I agree with this view. In my opinion, the development of a nation is determined by various factors and financial stability is just one of them.

There is no denying the fact that financial progress is important. If a nation is economically strong, it does not have to depend on monetary assistance from other countries to carry out its developmental agenda. What’s more, rich nations enjoy good reputation overseas. They are influential and have a say in international affairs. Take, for instance, the case of United States of America. It is the richest country in the world. It is also the most influential. Obviously, financial progress is important.

However, in my opinion, financial progress alone will not help. For a nation to become developed, it has to achieve progress in all areas. For example, it has to address problems like social discrimination, economic disparity and rural and urban divide. These problems are rampant in most developing and undeveloped countries and they are the number one cause of social unrest. In addition to solving these problems, countries have to achieve development in the field of education, healthcare, science and technology. Actually, if a nation achieves progress in these areas, economic progress will follow. On the contrary, without development in these areas, it is nearly impossible to achieve economic growth.

To conclude, economic growth is just one of the measures of success. Nations that strive to become developed should work to achieve progress in all areas of life.