Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fast-growing speed of urban development nowadays, many big cities are unable to provide sufficient land for constructing new buildings. Therefore, some local authorities believe that this problem can be solved by reducing park land. While this solution does bring about some benefits for the city's development, I completely disagree with it.

On the one hand, using park land have some advantages as it will create more space for residental areas and many useful buildings such as shopping malls, hotels and restaurants. This, in turn, will benefits the citizens and contribute to the economy. In addition, city governments will not need to spend money employing workers to do works that help maintaining the park such as mowing the lawn or irrigating trees. Instead, this money can be used to invest in essential sectors such as healthcare, transport and education.

On the other hand, cutting off park land can create more problems for the city. Firstly, in a hectic and overcrowded city, park is often seen as the only place that could provide a green and tranquil environment for people to relax. If this green area disappeared it would be extremely difficult for people to find a healthy place to relax and they will have more risk of getting mental health problems such as stress or anxiety. Secondly, park is an ideal place where children can meet and play together. Therefore, when children lost this playground they will likely to just stay at home playing video games or watching TV. As a result, they will become more lethargic and have many health problems such as obesity and myopia.

In conclusion, although using land park to create more buildings benefits the city to some extent, I strongly believe that park should be maintained in order to provide a green environment for residents and protect their health.