Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fast-growing speed of urban development nowadays, many big cities are unable to provide sufficient land for constructing new buildings. Therefore, some local authorities believe that this problem can be solved by reducing park land. While this solution does bring about some benefits for the city's development, I completely disagree with it because it will create more problems than it solves.

First, in a hectic and overcrowded city, park is often seen as the only place that could provide a green and tranquil environment for people to relax. If this green area disappeared it would be extremely difficult for people to find a healthy place to relax and they will have more risk of getting mental health problems such as stress or anxiety. Take Ha Noi, a metropolis in Vietnam for example. While its Air Quality Index is now at record levels, people living there cannot find any green place to rest because almost all of the areas in the city have been occupied by large commercial buildings. Consequently, many residents had suffered from respiratory diseases and they have to move to rural areas in order to find a fresher environment.

Second, a park is an ideal place where children can meet and play together. Therefore, when this playground is lost, children who are not so devoted to sports and other physical activities will be discouraged to find alternative places to play. Instead, they will likely to just do other kinds of entertainments at home, namely playing video games or watching TV. As a result, they will become more lethargic and have many health problems such as obesity and myopia.

In conclusion, although using land park to create more buildings benefits the city to some extent, I strongly believe that park should be maintained in order to provide a green environment for residents and protect their health.