Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some local authorities concern on one of the urgent factors - house shortage in urban areas - which should be solved by converting park area to residence. I, personally, state the same perspective of this issue for the reasonable points, which will be deliberated below.

On the one side, relocating park land to be housing estate would lose the pollutant absorption in metropolitan cities. If local officials start the project, all living organism will undergo poor functional diversity. Not only does this deteriorate human respiratory system but also threaten ecosystem, particularly pollinator species (bees and butterflies). Furthermore, to provide public space become the best place of relaxing and enjoying leisure after work pressure. For instance, New York’s Central Park, a world-famous public park, offers urban dwellers recreational activities in order to spend time in nature to relieve stress and anxiety.

On the flip side, with green house concept, one of residential developments aims to take part in sustainable city in the world. ACROS Fukuoka in Japan - one of such places - leads public awareness to lower carbon footprint by way of generating radiative cooling breeze which sustain a healthier environment for city residents. In addition, construction of new buildings can avoid the increasing number of informal settlements induced by overwhelming urbanisation. To illustrate, mole people living along trail sewage in Las Vegas encumber local authorities with the serious cost of environment.

In conclusion, in my standpoint, government project to establish residence by relocating a park is more beneficial for tackling housing shortage. Those include implementing green building concept as well as reducing squatter camps in central city. This is as long as the proportion of oxygen producers could control emission spectrum.