Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In many societies these days, the awareness of food nutrition has raised dramatically over the last decade. It is inevitable that food is a basic element of the health of public but some may contain an excessive amount of sugar, associating with diseases. Some advocate the idea of charging those items more in an effort to discourage one to buy them. Personally, I strongly challenge this idea and I will outline the evidence for supporting it.

To a certain extent, exercise is a key factor to maintain public health rather than what nutri-ents people intake. No doubt, exercises usually plays an important role in our health so it is essential to ensure one doing an adequate amount of exercises every day. Research by the University of Oxford state that patients who suffer from obesity are often lack of exercising. Therefore, it is crucial that one does exercises on a daily basis with the intention of burning calories from food and preventing other health issues.

While doing regular exercises is vital, restricting the proportion of sugar in artefacts is neces-sary as well. Moreover, it is a feasible measure that governments could carry out. To achieve this target, food production companies could only use those substances in a small proportion for food. In China, junk food such as hamburgers must have less than 5 percent of fat and stay below a certain calorie level. Otherwise, manufacturers would be fined thousands. By this, I mean that introducing legislation to control the number of calories is a possible way to main-tain the public health. As a result, it is a brilliant idea to have governments and food producers to cooperate with each other for tackling public health challenges.

Despite the fact that other approaches are noticeably effective, setting the prices of junk food to be high is a practical method as they are highly accessible for anyone in most cases. Need-less to say, they have been increasingly popular in different classes of our societies, from those who suffered from poverty to wealthy millionaires. Nonetheless, the disadvantaged groups are the major customers of fast food, whereas the wealthy cans afford healthy food that is extremely costly in most circumstances. Provided that the expenditure on high calories food could escalate noticeably, the vast majority of fast food customers will drop significantly in the foreseeable future. Although some may still be able to purchase those food, there would be less consumption of those food and the public is more likely to stay healthy.

To conclude, I completely disagree with the idea of forcing one to pay more for fatty food. Even though it is one of the most common methods to deal with public health, there are more measures need to be taken place such as doing physical exercises and monitoring food pro-duction.