Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many societies these days, the number of people who learn foreign languages has skyrocketed over the last decade. Some people suggest that the only reason why we learn them is for working or travelling abroad, whereas the others believe that there are multiple causes that we learn those languages. In this essay, I will outline the evidence for supporting both views and give my honest opinion.

To a certain extent, the use of foreign languages is quite limited as the vast majority of general public tends to stay in their native countries. No doubt, people may use foreign languages once they have to communicate with foreigners, and this is rarely to happen (with the exception of going to other parts of the world). Research by the University of Oxford states that the amount of time that bilinguals use their second language is significantly lower than they use their mother tongue. By this, I mean the only opportunity of using foreign languages would be speaking to people from different nations, and this occasion would happen only when we travel abroad for visiting or employment. Hence, it is likely that we do not use languages at all if we do not go to other countries.

While some people may use foreign languages for travelling only, there could be a chance that one uses them for accessing news. Although the versions and languages of the news have increased in recent years, some publishers may write the news in a certain language, which we may not understand without the knowledge about the language. South China Post, always offers online newspapers, is a good example that demonstrate the cruciality of understanding Chinese as it is all written in Chinese only. However, this company based in the UK so British, who would like to read those news, need to be able to fully understand Chinese. As a result, it is necessary to learn this language so people could receive latest information from this online platform. Provided those foreign languages could be used in our daily basis, it is evitable that we learn foreign language not just for travelling.

From my perspective, I advocate the idea of learning languages for other purposes, not only for chatting with foreign friends. Obviously, it is beneficial for everyone obtaining standard levels of other languages. Surprisingly, some employers require their workers to be trilingual so that they could expand their own businesses internationally. Therefore, more and more people may learn languages in different countries for acquiring degrees in foreign languages with the intention of qualifying from getting some jobs.