Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar,

which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more

expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that due to the large sugar content of the processed food and beverages, hence their adherse effects on the human health, the prices of those products should be increased to prevent people from purchasing those products. This essay agrees with this solution and in the next pharagraphs the cruciality of this enforcement and its positive impact on the wellbeing of the people will be elaborated.

To begin with the urgency of this practice, according to the doctors and dieticians, sugar can become the most deadly ingridiend in the food in case of excessive consumption. Large amount of sugar intake can increase the risk of diabetes, heart attack and even lead to obesity. Manufactured foods and drinks on the other hand, are known for their high sugar content and are therefore main source of this danger.

Coming to reasons why inflated packaged food and beverage prices will help to improve health of the people, primary one is economical status of most of the fast food consumers. These type of meals are traditionally known as cheaper alternatives to the food in healthy diet. As majority of the people prefer to spend as less money as they can on food in order to control their budgets, they tend to consume unhealthy food to reduce their living costs. Increasing the prices in the other hand, will force them to find other alternatives, and even cook for themselves instead of buying ready food.

In conclusion, it is true that rising the costs of sugary products is a good option for improving the wellbeing of the people as it will distract them from buying these products and force them to change their diets.