Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar,

which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more

expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that processed foods contain an excessive amount of sugar leading to serious health issues which is why many people advocate for an increase in the cost of such products to decrease their consumption by people. Notwithstanding the tantalizing side of such products, I strongly hold sides with those agreeing with a considerable cost increase to achieve a healthy lifestyle.

First and foremost, one of the most detrimental ingredients in any product is mostly considered sugar due to its adverse side effects. Consuming sugar more than allowed intervals can lead to significant maladies including diabetes which results in being dependent on medicine for the rest of your life. Considering a large proportion of one individual’s calorie intake consists of sugar, to discourage this addiction of people inflationary pressure must be exerted on such types of foods.

In addition to that, the main customers of sweet products are mostly children who are susceptible to more external diseases at their younger ages. Experts suggest that high-sugar diets for not only adults but also children must be limited, otherwise they can face more serious chronic issues in the future such as obesity. Consuming fructose increases your hunger and desire for food more than glucose, the main type of sugar found in starchy foods. Obesity rates are rising worldwide, and evidence suggests that added sugar, often from sugar-sweetened beverages, is a major contributor to obesity. Moreover, eating too much sugar can cause cavities in teeth due to bacteria in your mouth feeding on sugar and releasing acid byproducts, which cause tooth demineralization.

To recapitulate, the junk foods we find really alluring on the shelves of the stores are turned out to be containing an excessive amount of sugar accelerating many serious problems such as chronic diseases which is why I reckon how it is important to use taxation strategy on such types of products to prevent overconsumption of such products.