People cart eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this globalized world, it has been increasingly easier for people to eat various kinds of foods which are developed in other regions. Hence, more and more people opt for food manufactured in other countries than their regional food. Though this trend has some merits, I believe that its demerits are far more significant.

On the one hand, this tendency has some bright sides. The first one is that people have the chance to enjoy a new wide range of food, which might make their life more interesting. Having local food has been too popular for most people. So it might be more exciting for them to explore and try new types of food. For example, youngsters these days seem to be very happy when hanging out with friends in foreign food stores such as BBQ or Gong Cha, etc. This definitely gives them valuable and enjoyable experiences. In addition, imported food might be beneficial for their health, especially those which are grown in developed countries such as Japan, Australia or European group (such as Korean beef). Indeed, there has been a growing concern about toxic food produced by Vietnamese in recent years. Therefore, if Vietnamese people can diversify their daily diet, they will less likely to suffer from being poisoned.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are great drawbacks related to this trend. Firstly, this might cause a negative impact on local residents. Since fewer people are interested in regional agricultural products, it would be difficult for these kinds of foods to be sold out. For example, Vietnamese people are now keen on Thaid fruits such as mangos or rambutans, which are usually sweater and tasty. As a result, local farmers who are specializing in planting those trees gradually become unemployed. Moreover, the national economy might degrade significantly as local crops are being diminished and we have to import food from other nations. Even worse, there have been cases when some countries find ways to export bad food to other territories.

In conclusion, there are both bright and dark sides when people favor foreign food. However, I believe the disadvantage overshadow its advantages.