Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There exists a tendency that the number of travelers paying their visit to the local museums and historical sites is superior to the numbers of people in that region do. This essay aims to illustrate the causes of this phenomenon and suggest some feasible solutions to increase the attendance of local dwellers.

It is reasonable why museums and history-related attract more tourists than local people. The most popular cause is that tourists coming from other cities or countries always have a keen interest in exploring the local history and thus feel totally motivated to visit these places. For example, The Temple of Literature attracts million of foreign visitors per year to Hanoi to gain an insight into while the local citizens only visit on special occasions. This is because they are completely familiar with the history of the city and this landscape. Another reason is that the tourists do not know clearly about the nation’s currency so they tend to be willing to pay for all extra costs without any hesitation. These fees are created more and more due to the fact that tourism industry mainly contributes to the economy of many countries.

In order to raise the interest of local people in paying their visit to museums and historical sites, the authorities are recommended to apply some solutions. The first approach is to reduce the entrance fees or provide annual discount to local residents. People may pay less than usual if they go with a group of four or more, for instance. As a result, people will feel less burdened by their financial condition. Secondly, organizing varied activities which may incorporate new art performances is an effective way to attract people by grasping their attention and curiosity.

In conclusion, I believe that tourists often pay more visits to the museums and history-related places due to their greater sense of exploring and the willingness to afford the fee. Therefore, many courses of actions such as providing discounts or creating new kind of recreation must be adopted to awaken the interests of local inhabitants.