Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some museums charge admission fees while some do not. In my opinion, the merits of any entrance fees to the museums outweigh the drawbacks.

There are considerable benefits of charging entrance fees to the visitors of the museums. For the museums themselves, they can utilize that money to pay for the operation cost and to develop the museums by adding more sections. Moreover, museums can help boosting tourism for the country as they attract and encourage other nations to travel. For example, Netherlands is famous with its wide range of museums in art, history, and technology, as a result, in 2015 around 18 million tourist visited the country and it was estimated that the country gain 2 billion euros.

However, there are potential drawbacks for charging entrance tickets fees. The main issue is that most of the visitors are students. This can hold them back from visiting museums, as they will not be able to afford the ticket. For example, my sister tend to visit museums on regular bases to gain knowledge and sometimes to complete an assignment related to historical topic. If museums were charging entrance fees, she would not be able to visit them and she would opt for something cheaper such as getting the information from the internet.

I conclusion, although admission charge will hold certain type of visitors to the museums, however, the merits of setting tariff for museum entrance seem to outweigh the drawbacks as it can assist the museum with its running cost and encourage more tourist into the country.