Many museums charge for admission while others are free Do you think that the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages

Although an increasing number of historical museums typically charge an admission fee whereas there are others which are completely free. In my opinion, I think that admissibility fees can produce more benefits compared to the possible disadvantages it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some merits that a museum enjoys when visitors are been charged before accessing the museum. Firstly, they appreciate the value of their money. In other words, they appreciate and cherish the collections inside the museum. This disciplines them that something that has a price possesses a value. Secondly, despite the museum receiving funding from the government, the generated revenue from the admission charges can be used for its upkeep as well as to fund other community projects such as the construction of local roads and public places. Thus, not only the individuals but also society enjoy in the long-term.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, the art-gallery certainly could face some drawback if entrance tickets are sold. One potentially dangerous problem is that it will limit certain groups of people exploring such historical places. For instance, the primary role of the museum is to sufficiently educate its visitors, however, enforcing fees might prevent students and children from gaining unrestricted access. As a result, this typically limits them from learning and acquiring knowledge about the historical places and its contents which might be useful for their future. Another obvious issue is that visitors and tourists are deprived of the unique opportunity to purchase souvenirs or visit the museums' restaurants. For this reason, it will significantly reduce the income generated in the museum.

In conclusion, appreciating the value of services and revenue generation from imposed admissibility fees far offsets any of the considerable disadvantages that could result from visiting a museum. I believe it should not be free for all so as to be operated and developed effectively.