Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common that most people who want go to museums have to pay entrance fees. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this are outweighed by the benefits.

There are some drawbacks of charging admission. As people are required to pay an entrance fee to enter a museum, there is no doubt that they are discouraged from visiting these places and would rather choose other free entertainment forms. Hence, museums might experience a great loss in the number of visitors and face the possibility of being closed down. On the societal level, it is possible that people have fewer oppotunities to enrich their knowledge about culture, history and other crucial areas as they are reluctant to pay to visit educational places like museums.

However, I would argue that those mentiond above are insignificant to the advantages. It is true that the money from entrance tickets can provide fund to pay for the maintenance of important artifacts and the upgrade of the museum's facilities. Therefore, people can have a better visiting experience . Without charging admission, it would be very difficult to afford the expense of maintaining historical objects as well as covering the operating and managerial cost. In this case, the museums might be threatened with bankrupcy.

In conclusion, the advantages of visitors to museums paying entrance fees outweigh the disadvantages. However, I think it would be best to only charge an affordable amount of money to visitors.