Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

For years, museums have opened to served the public, especially who urge to dive in history and artifacts. However, while some museums let the visitor free entrance, some served with fee. This leads to a questions whether the benefit of this action prevail the disadvantages.

On the one hand, museums may not be an alluring location for young generations, not to mention if there is an entrance fee. Only a few people willing to pay admission in order to visit a museum, since they rather focusing on other attractions. Therefore, the policy may become a factor prevents students and youngsters accessing free knowledge. This goes against the aphorism of museums, which is to collect and secure antiquity for the education or study of the public.

On the other hand, entrance fee is a great source of income. Museums can generate its own revenue, and use that for various purposes, including maintaining operation as well as reserving the artifacts. By virtue of such, certain museums in Ho Chi Minh City has successfully launched workshops, and exhibits, or even provide the visitors with modern facility, which attracts attention from the community. Positive feedback was given, along with the excitement from the young visitors. Furthermore, some even organizes professional tour guides for foreigners to enhance the service of the place, encourage people to visit the location and acquire knowledge.

To sum up, from a personal standpoint, I firmly deem that the advantages of admission charging policy in many museums outweigh the disadvantages as revenue from such a source can be used to improve the place effectively.