Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a lot of museums require visitors to pay while others do not. While charging people may have some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits.

On the one hand, admission fees may hamper many people to visit. There always have a lot of local people who cannot afford to buy tickets to visit their local museums. For example, 50 students in the primary school where my mother teaches really desired to enter and discover historical museums in their town last week but their families who mostly are underprivileged could not manage to buy entrance tickets. In other words, the entrance fee acts as a tangible wall between disadvantaged residents and museums and therefore hinders them from getting better understanding of their indigenous history and cultures.

On the other hand, charging could bring some significant benefits for museums. Firstly, it would improve financial status of this institution. With this fund, these museums can regularly upgrade facilities and buy more exhibition items. They could also organize more high quality exhibition events for customers. For instance, the Louvre in Paris, one of largest and most popular museums in the world keep purchasing more and more valuable exhibits thanks to enormous amount of money it receives from tourists. Secondly, having to pay entrance fees makes visitors show more consideration for exhibition items. They might read carefully the description of exhibits that they have to pay for watching, and therefore they have deeper comprehension of values which are underlying in each individual item in a museum.

In conclusion, although admission fees to museums may cause some problems, it seems to me that the advantages of compulsory fees of entrance could be more significant.