Many parents choose to teach their children at home rather than sending their children to school do you think the benefits of homeschooling outweigh its drawbacks

Education plays an inevitable role in the life of every student. Parents rely on schools, private tuitions, and private educational institutions to mould their children to a literate citizen; however, certain parents prefer to teach their children at home without sending them to school. In my opinion, homeschooling has much more drawbacks than its benefits and the reasons are discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, a school syllabus is designed according to the age, mental development, and grasping capacity of children. In other words, the amount of information which can be imbibed by a scholar of a particular age group has a limit. To give a clear example, A report published by India Today suggested that experts from the field of physical and mental health and development design the curriculum for students before evaluating the developmental stages in children. However, while considering homeschooling, updation of knowledge would not take place because of the insufficient knowledge of guardians regarding designing of syllabus based on developmental stages.

Furthermore, the development of certain imperative qualities such as leadership qualities, communication skills, social interaction skills, sharing, and a competitive mind requires a school based training. As all these qualities get developed only by interacting with other scholars of same age group. Apart from this, interacting and involving with other pupils paves the way for active learning. But would that really works in homeschooling? Learning at home allows children to mingle only with their parents and can even lead to passive learning.

On the other hand, parents are the only people who can influence their offsprings to a great extent. As the main aim of education is behaviour modification and character building, nobody else could mould a child to a better individual other than guardians. Also, a child feels comfortable when their parents gently admonish them, whereas, it can even harm their self esteem if a mentor does the same in school in the presence of other students.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my view that homeschooling has its own pros and cons. Even though, both means of education has their own benefits, homoschooling is less beneficial to children as it lacks many essential attributes. In order to ensure quality education it is necessary to ensure that each student is attending school. Therefore, the disadvantages of home teaching outweigh the advantages.